

Kane County

Government Center 719 S. Batavia Ave., Bldg. A Geneva, IL 60134

KC Public Health Committee Meeting Minutes

STRATHMANN, Sanchez, Juby, Silva, Tarver, Williams, Young, ex-officio Pierog (County Chair) and ex-officio Tepe (County Vice Chair)

Tuesday, September 24, 2024

10:00 AM

County Board Room

SPECIAL MEETING

1. Call To Order

Chairman Strathmann called today's meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

2. Roll Call

PRESENT	Board Member Cherryl Strathmann
	Board Member Monica Silva
	Board Member Rick Williams
	Ex-Officio County Board Chair Corinne M. Pierog
	Ex-Officio County Board Vice Chair Vern Tepe
REMOTE	Board Member Bill Tarver
ABSENT	Board Member Jarett Sanchez
	Board Member Leslie Juby
	Board Member David Young

Also present: Co. Bd. members Kenyon, Kious, Linder*, Roth; KCHD Exec. Dir. Isaacson and staff Peterson; KCAC Admin. Youngsteadt*; ITD staff Peters; and members of the press and public.

3. Remote Attendance Requests

Chairman Strathmann announced the remote attendance requests for today's meeting. She asked the Committee if there were any objections to Committee Member Tarver attending remotely. There were no objections.

4. Executive Director

A. Authorization to Enter into Annual Kane County Health Department Grant Agreements

KCHD Exec. Dir. Isaacson stated that this resolution will allow the health department to accept additional funding from organizations.

KC Finance and Budget Committee

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY ROLL CALL VOTE

TO: KC Finance and Budget Committee

MOVER: Rick Williams
SECONDER: Monica Silva

AYE: Cherryl Strathmann, Monica Silva, Bill Tarver, Rick Williams,

Corinne M. Pierog, and Vern Tepe

ABSENT: Jarett Sanchez, Leslie Juby, and David Young

B. Authorizing Agreement Between Kane County Health Department and Association for Individual Development (AID) for Naloxone Vending Machines

KCHD Exec. Dir. Isaacson stated that this resolution will allow the health department the opportunity to place Naloxone vending machines at organizations throughout Kane County.

KC Executive Committee

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY ROLL CALL VOTE

TO: KC Executive Committee

MOVER: Bill Tarver SECONDER: Monica Silva

AYE: Cherryl Strathmann, Monica Silva, Bill Tarver, Rick Williams,

Corinne M. Pierog, and Vern Tepe

ABSENT: Jarett Sanchez, Leslie Juby, and David Young

C. Authorizing the Creation of a Position of Fatality Review Manager for the Kane County Health Department

KCHD Exec. Dir. Isaacson stated that a Fatality Review Manager position is a state and nationwide initiative where medical professionals, law enforcement, first responders and social services professionals come together to review and assess overdose, suicide and domestic violence statistics. This will provide concrete information, and help to identify situations efficiently.

KC Finance and Budget Committee

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY ROLL CALL VOTE

TO: KC Finance and Budget Committee

MOVER: Monica Silva SECONDER: Bill Tarver

AYE: Cherryl Strathmann, Monica Silva, Bill Tarver, Rick Williams,

Corinne M. Pierog, and Vern Tepe

ABSENT: Jarett Sanchez, Leslie Juby, and David Young

D. Authorizing Acceptance of the Medical Reserve Corps - State, Territory, and Tribal Nations Representative Organizations for Next Generation (MRC-STTRONG) Grant

KCHD Exec. Dir. Isaacson stated that this is a \$5K grant to allow the health department to provide additional amenities through the medical reserve volunteers.

KC Finance and Budget Committee

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY ROLL CALL VOTE

TO: KC Finance and Budget Committee

MOVER: Monica Silva SECONDER: Bill Tarver

AYE: Cherryl Strathmann, Monica Silva, Bill Tarver, Rick Williams,

Corinne M. Pierog, and Vern Tepe

ABSENT: Jarett Sanchez, Leslie Juby, and David Young

5. Reports Placed On File

RESULT: APPROVED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

MOVER: Rick Williams

6. Adjournment

RESULT: APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE

MOVER: Rick Williams
SECONDER: Monica Silva

This meeting was adjourned at 10:17 a.m.

Rachel Santora Recording Secretary