

Kane County County Board Meeting Minutes

Government Center 719 S. Batavia Ave., Bldg. A Geneva, IL 60134

Wednesday, September 25, 2024

11:30 AM

County Board Room

SPECIAL MEETING

1. CALL TO ORDER

The Adjourned Meeting of the Kane County Board was held at the Kane County Government Center, 719 S. Batavia Ave., Bldg. A, Geneva, IL 60134 on September 25, 2024.

Madam Chair called the meeting to order at 11:30 AM.

2. ROLL CALL

PRESENT: Board Member Mavis Bates

Board Member Dale Berman Board Member Ron Ford Board Member Michelle Gumz Board Member Leslie Juby Board Member Mo Iqbal

Board Member Michael Kenyon Board Member Chris Kious Board Member Bill Lenert Board Member Anita Lewis Board Member Bill Roth

Board Member Jarett Sanchez
Board Member Monica Silva
Board Member Vern Tepe
Board Member Rick Williams
Chairman Corinne M. Pierog
Board Member Gary Daugherty

REMOTE: Board Member Gary Daugherty

Board Member Michael Linder Board Member Myrna Molina

Board Member Cherryl Strathmann Board Member Clifford Surges

ABSENT: Board Member Mark Davoust

Board Member Bill Tarver Board Member David Young

AWAY: Board Member Deborah Allan

3. REMOTE ATTENDANCE REQUESTS

Madam Chair asked for remote access for Members Allan, Daugherty, Linder, Molina, Strathmann, and Surges. No objections were voiced.

Also present: State's Atty. Mosser & ASA Frank, Spcl. ASA Shepro; Auditor Wegman; KDOT staff M. Zakosek; Health Exec. Dir. Isaacson; Blgs & Facilities Exec. Dir. R. Fahnestock & staff Files; ARPA Mgr. S. Fahnestock; press & public.

4. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE & INVOCATION

Member Gumz led the assembly with the Pledge of Allegiance.

5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES: None

(Public Comment was moved to the end of the agenda with no objections. Executive Session was moved up on the agenda with no objection.)

9. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Madam Chair asked for a motion to go into executive session to discuss: 1) the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees; 2) the purchase or lease of real property for the use of the public body; and 3) pending probable or imminent litigation. The board moved into closed session at 11:34 AM.

RESULT: APPROVED BY ROLL CALL VOTE

MOVER: Michael Kenyon SECONDER: Chris Kious

AYE: Mavis Bates, Dale Berman, Gary Daugherty, Ron Ford, Michelle

Gumz, Leslie Juby, Mo Iqbal, Michael Kenyon, Chris Kious, Michael Linder, Bill Lenert, Anita Lewis, Myrna Molina, Bill Roth, Jarett Sanchez, Monica Silva, Cherryl Strathmann, Clifford

Surges, Vern Tepe, and Rick Williams

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Tarver, and David Young

AWAY: Deborah Allan

- A. The Appointment, Employment, Compensation, Discipline, Performance, or Dismissal of Specific Employees
- B. Purchase or Lease of Real Property for the Use of the Public Body
- C. Pending Probable or Imminent Litigation

10. OPEN SESSION

(Lewis leaves 11:58 AM but returns remotely.) The board returned to open session at 12:06 PM. The roll was called and a quorum was established with 21 members present. (Absent: Davoust, Tarver, Young)

County Board Meeting Minutes September 25, 2024

7. NEW AND UNFINISHED BUSINESS

8. RESOLUTIONS/ORDINANCES-OFF CONSENT

A. Certifying Names to Take the Examination for County Engineer 24-386

RESULT: ADOPTED BY ROLL CALL VOTE

MOVER: Jarett Sanchez SECONDER: Bill Lenert

AYE: Deborah Allan, Mavis Bates, Dale Berman, Gary Daugherty, Ron

Ford, Michelle Gumz, Leslie Juby, Mo Iqbal, Michael Kenyon, Chris Kious, Michael Linder, Bill Lenert, Anita Lewis, Myrna Molina, Bill Roth, Jarett Sanchez, Monica Silva, Cherryl Strathmann, Clifford Surges, Vern Tepe, and Rick Williams

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Tarver, and David Young

A. Authorizing Updated Capital Projects from the Capital Fund 24-381

RESULT: ADOPTED BY ROLL CALL VOTE

MOVER: Michael Kenyon

SECONDER: Bill Lenert

AYE: Deborah Allan, Mavis Bates, Dale Berman, Gary Daugherty, Ron

Ford, Michelle Gumz, Leslie Juby, Mo Iqbal, Michael Kenyon, Chris Kious, Michael Linder, Bill Lenert, Anita Lewis, Myrna Molina, Bill Roth, Jarett Sanchez, Monica Silva, Cherryl Strathmann, Clifford Surges, Vern Tepe, and Rick Williams

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Tarver, and David Young

C. Approving County Board Personal Expense Voucher Reimbursement Request

24-383

Support and objections to this resolution were voiced. Some members voiced the need for a better policy and to have those who attended this conference report back to the board.

RESULT: ADOPTED BY ROLL CALL VOTE

MOVER: Dale Berman SECONDER: Mavis Bates

AYE: Deborah Allan, Mavis Bates, Dale Berman, Gary Daugherty, Ron

Ford, Leslie Juby, Michael Kenyon, Chris Kious, Michael Linder, Bill Lenert, Anita Lewis, Bill Roth, Jarett Sanchez, Monica Silva,

Cherryl Strathmann, Clifford Surges, and Rick Williams

NAY: Mo Iqbal, and Vern Tepe

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Tarver, and David Young

ABSTAIN: Michelle Gumz

AWAY: Myrna Molina

D. Approving County Board Personal Expense Voucher Reimbursement Request 24-384

RESULT: ADOPTED BY ROLL CALL VOTE

MOVER: Dale Berman SECONDER: Chris Kious

AYE: Deborah Allan, Mavis Bates, Dale Berman, Gary Daugherty, Ron

Ford, Michelle Gumz, Leslie Juby, Mo Iqbal, Michael Kenyon, Chris Kious, Michael Linder, Bill Lenert, Bill Roth, Jarett Sanchez,

Monica Silva, Clifford Surges, and Rick Williams

NAY: Vern Tepe

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Tarver, and David Young

ABSTAIN: Anita Lewis, and Cherryl Strathmann

AWAY: Myrna Molina

E. Approving County Board Personal Expense Voucher Reimbursement Request

24-385

(Madam Chair commented that the travel line item for the board was \$17.64 and does not include recent transactions that have been approved. Funds will have to come out of the board's budget and currently funds were being moved from another location.)

RESULT: APPROVED BY ROLL CALL VOTE

MOVER: Bill Lenert SECONDER: Ron Ford

AYE: Deborah Allan, Dale Berman, Gary Daugherty, Ron Ford,

Michelle Gumz, Leslie Juby, Mo Iqbal, Michael Kenyon, Chris Kious, Michael Linder, Bill Lenert, Anita Lewis, Bill Roth, Jarett Sanchez, Monica Silva, Cherryl Strathmann, Clifford Surges, and

Rick Williams

NAY: Vern Tepe

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Tarver, and David Young

ABSTAIN: Mavis Bates

AWAY: Myrna Molina

B. Amending Resolution 24-305 Authorizing the Use of State and Local Fiscal Recovery Revenue Loss Recoupment Funds to Fund the Transitional Housing Program for the Kane County Sheriff's Office to Correct Amount Authorized and Add Budget Table

24-382

Gumz moved to discuss; second by Roth. However, ASA Frank shared that there is an anticipated budget line item amendment. He suggested to postpone Resolution No. 24-382 to the October 8, 2024 County Board meeting. **Motion by Kious, second by Kenyon to amend the motion and postpone the resolution to the October 8, 204 County Board meeting. Roll call on the amendment followed:**

County Board

RESULT: HELD OVER

TO: County Board MOVER: Chris Kious

SECONDER: Michael Kenyon

AYE: Mavis Bates, Dale Berman, Gary Daugherty, Ron Ford, Mo Igbal,

Michael Kenyon, Chris Kious, Bill Lenert, Anita Lewis, Bill Roth, Jarett Sanchez, Monica Silva, Cherryl Strathmann, Clifford

Surges, Vern Tepe, and Rick Williams

NAY: Michelle Gumz, and Leslie Juby

REMOTE: Michael Linder

ABSENT: Mark Davoust, Bill Tarver, and David Young

AWAY: Deborah Allan, and Myrna Molina

6. PUBLIC COMMENT

Chairwoman Pierog presented a magazine picture that will reflect Kane County on the cover of the Enjoy Illinois magazine, printed by the Illinois Office of Tourism. It will recognize Kane County nationally. Appreciation was extended to all who made it happen. (Member Lenert leaves at 12:28 PM)

Madam Chair invited public comment. No public comment was received.

11. ADJOURNMENT TO TUESDAY, OCTOBER 8, 2024

The board adjourned its meeting at 12:29 PM.

RESULT: APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE

MOVER: Michael Kenyon

SECONDER: Bill Roth