

Kane County

Government Center 719 S. Batavia Ave., Bldg. A Geneva, IL 60134

KC Energy and Environmental Committee

Meeting Minutes

BATES, Tarver, Allan, Kious, Roth, Strathmann, Young, ex-officios Pierog (County Chair), and Tepe (County Vice Chair)

Friday, November 15, 2024

9:00 AM

County Board Room

1. Call To Order

Chairman Bates called today's meeting to order at 9:00 AM.

2. Roll Call

PRESENT	Board Member Mavis Bates
	Ex-Officio County Board Vice Chair Bill Roth
	Board Member Cherryl Strathmann
	Board Member David Young
REMOTE	Board Member Bill Tarver
ABSENT	Board Member Deborah Allan
	Board Member Chris Kious
	Ex-Officio County Board Chair Corinne M. Pierog
	Ex-Officio County Board Vice Chair Vern Tepe

Also present: Co. Bd. members Gumz*, Juby*, Lewis, Linder*; Environ. & Water Res. Dir. Wollnik; ITD/BLD Mgmt. Exec. Dir. Fahnestock*; Sustainability Mgr. Hinshaw and staff Powell; Recycling Coordinator Ryan; ITD staff Peters; and members of the press and public.

3. Remote Attendance Requests

Chairman Bates announced the remote attendance requests for today's meeting. She asked the Committee if there were any objections to Committee Member Tarver attending remotely. There were no objections.

4. Approval of Minutes: October 11, 2024

RESULT: APPROVED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

MOVER: Bill Roth

5. Public Comment (Agenda Items)

None.

6. Environmental (J.Wollnik)

A. Solar Projects on Kane County Property

Environ. & Water Res. Dir. Wollnik announced that a new Solar project will be installed on the roof of the new Health Department building in Elgin. She stated that this project could significantly decrease operating costs. A request for proposal (RFP) will be sent out. This will then be brought back to the Committee for further discussion. Discussion ensued.

7. Recycling/Solid Waste (C. Ryan)

A. Authorizing an Agreement with the Village of West Dundee and Eworks Electronics Services, Inc. for Operation of the West Dundee Recycling Center in 2025

KC Finance and Budget Committee

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY ROLL CALL VOTE

TO: KC Finance and Budget Committee

MOVER: Cherryl Strathmann

SECONDER: Bill Roth

AYE: Mavis Bates, Bill Tarver, Bill Roth, Cherryl Strathmann, and David

Young

ABSENT: Deborah Allan, Chris Kious, Corinne M. Pierog, and Vern Tepe

B. Authorizing Extension to Professional Service Agreement for 2025 Recycling Center and Event Staffing and Operations

KC Finance and Budget Committee

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY ROLL CALL VOTE

TO: KC Finance and Budget Committee

MOVER: Bill Roth

SECONDER: Cherryl Strathmann

AYE: Mavis Bates, Bill Tarver, Bill Roth, Cherryl Strathmann, and David

Young

ABSENT: Deborah Allan, Chris Kious, Corinne M. Pierog, and Vern Tepe

8. Sustainability (S.Hinshaw)

A. Kane County Waste Warrior Implementation Team tours LRS Chicago The Exchange Material Recovery Facility

Sustainability Mgr., Hinshaw, shared a series of pictures of inside the LRS West Chicago Transfer Station, Material Recovery facility, and a virtual tour showing how they operate. Much discussion ensued.

9. New Business

None.

10. Chairs Comments

Chairman Bates thanked her staff for all the work they do, and the Committee Members for their continued dedication.

11. Reports Placed On File

RESULT: APPROVED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

MOVER: David Young

12. Executive Session (if needed)

None.

13. Adjournment

RESULT: APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE

MOVER: Bill Roth

SECONDER: Cherryl Strathmann

This meeting was adjourned at 9:45 a.m.

Rachel Santora Recording Secretary