

Kane County

KC Legislative Committee Meeting Minutes

GUMZ, LINDER, Bates, Daugherty, Molina, Silva, Strathmann, ex-officios Pierog (County Chair) and Tepe (County Vice Chair)

Wednesday, November 20, 2024	10:30 AM	County Board Room
		5

1. Call To Order

Chairman Gumz called today's meeting to order at 10:31 AM.

2. Roll Call

PRESENT	Board Member Michelle Gumz
	Board Member Michael Linder
	Board Member Myrna Molina
	Board Member Monica Silva
	Board Member Cherryl Strathmann
	Ex-Officio County Board Vice Chair Vern Tepe
REMOTE	Board Member Gary Daugherty
ABSENT	Board Member Mavis Bates
	Ex-Officio County Board Chair Corinne M. Pierog

Also present: Co. Bd. members Kious*, Kenyon, Lenert, Roth, Surges*; Recycling Coordinator Ryan; Environ. & Water Res. Dir. Wollnik; McGuire Woods Rep. Bales* and Sherwood*;Transportation Dep. Dir. Rickert; ASA Frank; ITD staff Peters; and members of the press and public.

3. Remote Attendance Requests

Chairman Gumz announced the remote attendance requests for today's meeting. She asked the Committee if there were any objections to Committee Members Daugherty attending remotely. There were no objections.

4. Approval of Minutes: August 21, 2024

RESULT:	APPROVED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT	
MOVER:	Michael Linder	

5. Public Comment

None.

6. New Business

A. Household Hazardous Waste (Clair Ryan)

Recycling Coordinator, Ryan, presented information on the Household Hazardous Waste Extended Producer Responsibility Bill (HHW). She anticipates that this bill will be introduced to the state legislator, and hopes to rally local government support. Kane County has a drop-off facility in Naperville which is open every weekend of the year, and open to all state residents on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m. without fees. Ryan explained that the Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) is the concept that product manufactures should bear the costs for end-of-life disposal and recycling of their products. The goal of EPR is to integrate the environmental externalities associated with mass-produced goods into corporate budgeting and decision-making. She provided an overview of the draft Household Stewardship Act. Starting on January 1, 2027, all manufacturers must belong to a stewardship organization or a producer responsibility organization (PRO) with an approved stewardship plan. The Stewardship plan will last for five years, and manufacturers will fund 100% of collection costs for collection sites identified in the plan. Manufacturers will pay a portion of the transportation and disposal costs. Starting in year 2029, there must be a permanent collection site open at least 55 hours per month within fifteen miles of 60% of state residents, and a one-day collection event at least six hours long within twenty-five miles of at least 20% additional residents. This program will save Kane County \$10K per year in perpetuity on the Naperville site contribution. Lastly, Ryan noted that this program will boost public awareness about safe HHW disposal options. Much discussion ensued.

B. ISACo Wind and Solar Facility Task Force (Mavis Bates & Jodie Wollnik)

Environ. & Water Res. Dir., Wollnik, stated that in January of 2023, the Chairman assigned her to the ISACo Wind and Solar Task Force. A series of discussions were conducted on implementing wind and solar regulations for Illinois counties. There will be a meeting in December discussing draft language for changes that will potentially go to the State Legislator in January of 2025. Wollnik reviewed the suggested language on areas focused on to help facilitate this process for the county. The time frame for the Kane County sighting decision is currently at 30 days. The proposed change for the time frame is 60 days, which will provide more time for discussions before a decision is made. Lastly, Kane County would like to add language that allows bermming, which is a screening mechanism used as landscaping and fencing, on the solar facility. Much discussion ensued.

C. Legislative Updates

McGuireWoods Consultant, Bales, stated that Congress is back in session. The FY2024 funding levels will run out on December 20, 2024. It will be determined in Congress to pass a FY2025 appropriation bill.

McGuireWoods Consultant, Sherwood, stated that Thursday, November 21, 2024 is the last day of Veto session. New Legislative Members were down in Springfield this week for training. The four caucus leaders will remain in place for the next General Assembly. Lastly, Sherwood, noted that on January 8, 2025, the Inauguration will be held for the new General Assembly. Discussion ensued.

D. Kane County Legislative Agenda FY2025

Chairman, Gumz, provided a draft legislative agenda to the committee. The agenda included a mission statement, the history and overview of Kane County, and legislative priorities. Gumz made a recommendation to include the county's departments on the agenda, including community development and housing, economic and workforce development, energy and environmental, health and human services, infrastructure and land use, public safety, transportation, and veterans. She noted that the approved legislative agenda can be amended by the Legislative Committee and County Board based on articulated criteria and consistency with county priorities. A county position on specific bills may be taken through the legislative committee based on a significant impact to county policy or operations. Gumz highlighted the draft conclusion stating that the legislative agenda reflects Kane County's commitment to serving its residents through innovative governance, fiscal responsibility, and proactive advocacy. By collaborating with state and federal partners, Kane County will strive to achieve legislative priorities and create a prosperous future for its communities. The Committee discussed their thoughts and opinions. Chairman Gumz stated that she will consider all of the committee member's suggestions and opinions, and will re-draft the agenda to present at the next meeting.

7. Old Business

A. Committee Co-Chair discussion

Chairman, Gumz, stated that the Jobs Committee had a discussion on a pending resolution to eliminate co-chairs from the Legislative Committee and Jobs Committee. She believes there is no need for a co-chairs. Committee Member, Linder, conquered on this topic. There was no objection by the committee on the recommendation.

8. Co-chair Comments

Co-Chair, Linder, stated that he is pleased with the members contributions to this committee, and hopes to see all members back after the first of next month.

9. Executive Session (if needed)

None.

10. Place Reports on File

RESULT:	APPROVED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT
MOVER:	Michelle Gumz

11. Adjournment

RESULT:	APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE
MOVER:	Monica Silva
SECONDER:	Cherryl Strathmann

This meeting was adjourned at 11:41 a.m.

Rachel Santora Recording Secretary