

Kane County KC Jobs Committee Meeting Minutes

Government Center 719 S. Batavia Ave., Bldg. A Geneva, IL 60134

County Board Room

LEWIS, ALLAN, Bates, Daugherty, Ford, Strathmann, Young, ex-officios Pierog (County Chair), and Tepe (County Vice Chair)

1:00 PM

SPECIAL MEETING

1. Call To Order

Thursday, September 26, 2024

Chairman Lewis called today's meeting to order at 1:08 a.m.

2. Roll Call

PRESENT	Board Member Anita Lewis
	Board Member Deborah Allan
	Board Member Mavis Bates
	Board Member Cherryl Strathmann
	Ex-Officio County Board Chair Corinne M. Pierog
REMOTE	Board Member Gary Daugherty
ABSENT	Board Member Ron Ford
	Board Member David Young
	Ex-Officio County Board Vice Chair Vern Tepe

Also present: Co. Bd. members Kious; Dev. Dir. VanKerkhoff and staff Toth; JEG 360, LLC CEO Grueling; ITD staff Peters; and members of the press and public.

Remote Attendance Requests 3.

Chairman Lewis announced the remote attendance requests for today's meeting. She asked the Committee if there were any objections to Committee Members Daugherty attending remotely. There were no objections.

Public Comment 4.

None.

5. **Jobs Committee Priorities**

A. Adopting a Kane County Economic Development Strategic Plan

Dev. Dir. VanKerkhoff presented a slide show of information about the Kane County Economic Development Strategic Plan. He indicated that the recently completed Kane County Economic Development Strategic Plan calls for a more efficient engagement of public, private, and civic leaders in county economic development. Given that the County does not have the institutional infrastructure to coordinate growth across its municipalities, forming a County Economic Development Organization (EDO) will be an important first step in realizing the county's vision for growth. VanKerkhoff noted that on March 26, 2024, RW Ventures, LLC, presented the draft findings and recommendations of the strategic plan to the Kane County Board Committee of the Whole. On May 14, 2024, the County Board approved \$3M funding to support the launch of a Kane County EDO. The funds have been transferred from the American Rescue Plan (ARPA) revenue recoupment fund to fund 400 economic development.

Grueling reviewed the key findings of the Kane County Economic Development Strategic Plan. He highlighted the key market analysis findings, including manufacturing strengths, concentration of business services, agricultural assets, labor market gaps, and government fragmentation. He stated that the market analysis leads to a vision and series of strategic directions to address Kane County's challenges and opportunities. Kane County will become a dynamic mix of traditional industries and emerging sectors. The County's industrial base will grow alongside leading-edge agricultural practices and quality of life for residents. To execute this vision, a series of strategies were proposed. Grueling highlighted each strategy, which included creating an economic development organization, supporting manufacturing by identifying new opportunities, markets, and technical assistance to compete for new opportunities. He indicated that there is a need for greater employer involvement in education, training, and hiring practices. He highlighted the target industry clusters for Kane County, including metals and machinery, food and beverage manufacturing and packaging, transportation, distribution, and logistics, agriculture, and business services. Lastly, the launch of an EDO and focusing on these strategic directions will set Kane County on a path towards a vibrant, post-pandemic prosperous 21st century economy. Much discussion ensued. (Madam Chair Pierog left at 1:30 p.m.)

KC Executive Committee

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY ROLL CALL VOTE

TO: KC Executive Committee

MOVER: Cherryl Strathmann

SECONDER: Deborah Allan

AYE: Anita Lewis, Deborah Allan, Gary Daugherty, and Cherryl

Strathmann

ABSENT: Ron Ford, David Young, Corinne M. Pierog, and Vern Tepe

ABSTAIN: Mavis Bates

B. Approving and Authorizing the Execution of an Agreement Between the County of Kane and the Kane County Economic Development Corporation for Funding of Economic Development Purposes

KC Executive Committee

RESULT: MOVED FORWARD BY ROLL CALL VOTE

TO: KC Executive Committee

MOVER: Mavis Bates

SECONDER: Cherryl Strathmann

AYE: Anita Lewis, Deborah Allan, Mavis Bates, Gary Daugherty, and

Cherryl Strathmann

ABSENT: Ron Ford, David Young, Corinne M. Pierog, and Vern Tepe

6. New Business

None.

7. Comments by Co-Chair

Co-Chair Allan congratulated the Development team on the passing of the Strategic Plan.

8. Reports Placed On File

RESULT: APPROVED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

MOVER: Deborah Allan

9. Executive Session (if needed)

None.

10. Adjournment

RESULT: APPROVED BY VOICE VOTE

MOVER: Mavis Bates

This meeting was adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

Rachel Santora Recording Secretary